Skip to the content | Change text size

Philosophy Bioethics Staff Seminar Series 2012

Semester 2, 2012

Friday, July 27 2012
Mind & Morality Workshop
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy Department, Monash University
Friday, August 3 2012
Mutuality and Assertion
Sanford Goldberg (Northwestern University)
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, August 10 2012
The Transitivity of the Betterness Relation
Toby Handfield (Monash University)
Monash Work in Progress Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, August 17 2012
Do I make a difference? Climate change and individual responsibility
Tatjana Visak (Monash University)
Monash Work in Progress Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, August 24 2012
A Spanner in the Works
Antony Eagle (University of Adelaide)
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, September 7 2012
Deliberative Contractualism and the Conditional Fallacy
Nicholas Southwood (Australian National University)
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, September 14 2012
Cognitive Impairment and the Right to Vote
Linda Barclay (Monash University)
Monash Work in Progress Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, September 21 2012
The New 'Neurosexism'? Why Neuroscience Needs 'Neurofeminism'
Cordelia Fine (University of Melbourne)
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Wednesday, September 26 2012
On the Instrumental Value of Vagueness in the Law
Hrafn Asgeirsson (Monash University)
Monash Work in Progress Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, September 28 2012
Enhancing Moral Dispositions and Freedom
Julian Savulescu (Oxford University)
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, October 5 2012
Why Can't We Perceive Necessities, Kant?
Colin Marshall (University of Melbourne)
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, October 12 2012
The Value of Security
Michael Selgelid (Monash University)
Monash Work in Progress Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, October 19 2012
Talk Cancelled!
Caroline West (University of Sydney)
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, October 26 2012
Naturalness & Necessity
Alastair Wilson (University of Birmingham)
Monash Work in Progress Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Thursday, November 1 2012
Contingency
John Heil (Washington University in St. Louis)
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University

Semester 1, 2012

Friday, March 2 2012
The Roles of Sensory Modalities and Content in the Phenomenology of Perceptual Experience
David Bourget (University of London)
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy Department, Monash University
Friday, March 9 2012
Brain-Reading
Timothy Bayne (Oxford University)
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy Department, Monash University
Friday, March 16 2012
The Three Lives of Louise Keralio Robert
Karen Green (Monash University)
Monash Work in Progress Series
Philosophy Department, Monash University
Friday, March 23 2012
Enhancement and Obsolescence: Avoiding an 'Enhanced Rat Race'
Rob Sparrow (Monash University)
Monash Work in Progress Series
Philosophy Department, Monash University
Friday, March 30 2012
Whither Experimental Semantics?
Michael Devitt (City University of New York)
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, April 20 2012
Social Justice, Assisted Reproductive Technologies and responsibility for infertility
John McMillan (Flinders University)
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, April 27 2012
Pruss, Motivational Centrality, and Probabilities Attached to Possibility Premises in Modal Ontological Arguments
Graham Oppy
Monash Work in Progress Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, May 4 2012
On Practical Authority
George Duke (Deakin University)
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, May 11 2012
On the Conceptual Necessity of the B-theory of Time
Kristie Miller (University of Sydney)
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, May 18 2012
Why Go Hybrid?
Laura Schroeter (University of Melbourne), Francois Schroeter (University of Melbourne)
Monash Seminar Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University
Friday, May 25 2012
Perceptual Unity in the Actively Hypothesis-Testing Brain
Jakob Hohwy (Monash University)
Monash Work in Progress Series
Philosophy & Bioethics Departments, Monash University