Skip to the content | Change text size

Journalism Students Successes

2012 Herb Thomas award for journalism student

Rotary club trustee Roger Hall, 2012 Herb Thomas award recipient Erin Bradshaw, and Monash Berwick journalism lecturer Susan Angel, at the awards dinner.

A Monash University Berwick journalism student with a passion for the environment is the winner of the prestigious 2012 Herb Thomas Memorial Trust award.

Erin Bradshaw received a cheque for $1200 at a presentation dinner at the Fountain Gate Hotel on 9 May. 

The event marked the 28th year of the award, which is made annually to the most outstanding final-year journalism student at the Berwick campus as well as to three other students from media and printing courses at Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology and Chisholm Institute, in  honour of newspaper proprietor Herbert Thomas, founder of the Star News Group.

Rotary International clubs at Berwick, Pakenham, Narre Warren, and Endeavour Hills are custodians, and the two municipalities of Casey and Cardinia support the trust. 

The award is unusual in tertiary education because it is the result of a rare collaboration among the community service clubs, local councils, a major newspaper publisher, and three tertiary educational institutions, and because it derives historically from the close association between a newspaper and its audience, the community.

“Herb Thomas had a great knowledge of the district and its history and gave much encouragement to people in public life,” the trustees said. “He was a fair and square editor.”

Erin said her interest in journalism had stemmed from her love of writing.

“I hope to have a long career in journalism.” 

“Monash has helped me hone my skills in all facets of journalism as well as assisting me develop my confidence.  The award will really help me buy new technology so I can broaden my journalism focus. ”

Representing Monash University at the dinner were School of Applied Media and Social Sciences manager, Pam Williams, Public Relations lecturer and former award winner, Karen Sutherland, and Journalism lecturer Susan Angel.

To listen to Erin's interview, click here